Rustic Peach Tart

rustic_peach_tart_jordan_tickle-2I love peaches, and I’m proud of it! I literally have an obsession with anything peach-flavored and it’s slightly out of control. I’m a little late posting this recipe because things have been CRAZY around here lately, but just a couple of weeks ago we were right in the middle of peach season here in NC and I was in heaven!

There’s a small, family owned and operated, peach orchard about 25 minutes from my house and they have THE BEST peaches you’ll ever find! I get some every year to make things with and it’s one of my favorite times of the entire summer. We froze a bunch, made several rounds of jam, ate more than I can remember and made a few of these tarts! It was wonderful… I enjoyed every second of it too!

This recipe came about from a late night search for “easy peach recipe” one night while Heather was at work. I’m really bad about wanting a little something sweet at night – and having all these peaches in the house just wasn’t helping! (Plus I hadn’t baked anything in a while and I kind of wanted to get out the flour and make something) This recipe sounded pretty easy and rather simple, so I gave it a whirl!

And boy-oh-boy, I’m sure glad I did!

The original recipe came from Syrup and Biscuits and I’m so glad they shared it, but I changed the recipe just a little. I’m currently trying to reduce our sugar intake in recipes just because there’s no reason to consume extra sugar – plus I LOVE fresh peaches, and I wanted the natural sweetness to come through more. If you like things pretty sweet then feel free to double the sugar. Also, I use brown sugar instead of regular sugar to give a deeper flavor. Another thing – I adapted my original pie crust recipe by substituting one tablespoon of Crisco for room temperature butter. This is a little trick that Alton Brown suggests and it really made my crust delicious. The butter adds a little flavor to the crust, but the Crisco keeps it light and flakey. This was honestly the best pie crust I had ever eaten – no joke!

Printable Recipe PDF here: rustic_peach_tart

RUSTIC PEACH TART

INGREDIENTS

For the crust…

  • 1 c. All-purpose Flour
  • 5 Tbsp. Crisco/Shortening
  • 1 Tbsp. Butter (room-temperature)
  • 1/2 tsp. Salt
  • 3-4 Tbsp. Ice-Cold Water
  • *Milk, Cream of Half & Half
  • *Granulated Sugar

For the filling…

  • 4 c. Sliced Peaches – Fresh or Frozen (if using frozen, thaw and drain first)
  • Juice from 1/2 lemon
  • 1/4 c. All-purpose Flour
  • 1/2 c. Brown Sugar
  • 1/2 tsp. Ground Cinnamon

DIRECTIONS 

For the crust…

• Mix flour and salt in a bowl. Add Crisco and butter and cut into the flour with a fork until about the size of peas. Add ICE COLD water 1 Tbsp. at a time and mix until the dough just starts to come together.

• Press dough into a ball and turn out onto a well-floured surface. Using a rolling-pin, roll the dough until about 1/8 inch thick. Don’t worry about form and shape – it’s rustic!

• Lightly dust with flour to make sure it won’t stick, and roll up on your rolling-pin. Transfer to a cookie sheet lined with parchment paper. Easily unroll onto the parchment.  (Do NOT skip using parchment paper. It sticks terribly to the pan and is a pain to clean!)

For the filling…

• Mix the flour, sugar and cinnamon together in a small bowl. Mix the peaches and lemon juice in a large bowl, then toss with the flour/sugar mixture.

• Pour the filling into the middle of the crust and spread the peaches evenly, leaving at least 2.5 inches of crust around the edges. Fold the edges of the crust around the peaches.

• Brush the edges of the crust with milk or cream and sprinkle with granulated sugar.

• Bake at 375°F for 55-60 minutes, until the crust is golden brown.

• Serves 4-6 people, depending on how large of a slice you want!

rustic_peach_tart_jordan_tickle-3

2 thoughts on “Rustic Peach Tart

  1. This recipe sounds awesome Jeremy. I can’t wait to try it. Where did you get the fresh peaches from? Have a good rest
    of the week:)

    Like

    1. Thanks, Nancy! I got the peaches from a little farm in Mayodan, NC up on the mountain! I don’t even know that they have a name for the farm. I always get them from the family’s daughter who is a friend of mine.

      I hope you try the recipe – let me know what you think!

      Like

Leave a Reply

